So this past Friday, I hosted a very small get together for an engagement party! There were 10 people total and it was just a few hours long but so much fun. My fave thing to do on weekends is dinner with friends. I would much rather be seated around a table with great food and great friends then out at a loud club or bar. but that’s just me!

So I set up in our back room where there is more space and had everyone seated at ONE table. So we could all be a part of every conversation since time was limited. I used the colors the “bride to be” was thiiiinking about using for her wedding theme…. navy, yellow and white and got to decorating.
My colors in the back room are mint and white hence the mint chairs.  ps: the lanterns are my replacement until I find that PERFECT chandelier I am on the hunt for…

I used a navy table cloth w seersucker napkins and a seersucker runner where the two tables joined together to make them look seamless. Seersucker is the perfect fabric for “nautical” inspired parties because the wrinkles are meant to be there and it is a great pattern to add to any solid.  For the addition of yellow, I used lemons – sliced on each glass and also in the center of the table in the coral bowl for an accent. (lemons are a cheap and easy way to add color and that you can use once the party is over… a lot of fruit is. Apples, Pears, Limes etc.) I also used fresh flowers… I wasnt able to find ALL of the flowers I wanted so had to compromise there. Wanted all yellow tulips and white hydrangea’s. Everything I used to decorate I had already. the sea life, the coral bowl (was gold spray painted white), platters, fabric etc.

The cupcake tier was from my own wedding. My husband made them from a DIY we saw in a magazine where paper was used to cover foam core. We decided to use a map from the area we were getting married in New England and use that as the base for each tier. And then we added a navy and white grosgrain ribbon to clean finish the edges. SUPER SIMPLE and inexpensive and it looked great then and we still use now.
We ordered engagement ring cookies for the favor for the guests.

I personally love white on white decorations. It can be really simple and still make a statement.

And lastly the invitation which was all thanks to cocodot.com They have the BEST invitations to choose from for any event and are sent out with your choice of envelope and seal. So they can be completely custom from the inside OUT!

Remember. When planning any sort of event whether it is a dinner party or a full out wedding. It doesnt matter how much money is spent… and believe me! you can accomplish anything you desire despite any budget. What matters are the little details that make the party special and are a representation of YOU or the person you are planning the party for.
You can be inspired by ANYTHING but just stay true to YOU!

xoxo- SDM for The Pink Lobstah

ps: check back for updates on the COMPLETION of our back room. last step: choosing the perfect color carpet to go along with the Cape Cod sunroom feel.

